Andy Cameron, Murray Juniors Owen Watson and Janice Rankin-Murray-Firth Women’s Title Success Heads to Season Finale

Click here to sign up for our free newsletters!

As we come to the end of another curling season, a number of league winners have already been decided.

Murray's curling season is coming to an end.  Photo: Daniel Forsyth.
Murray’s curling season is coming to an end. Photo: Daniel Forsyth.

In Moray County East Division 1, a tabletop clash between Andy Cameron and Alan Campbell resulted in an outright win and the Division 1 title at Aberlor Arena.

The opening count of five shots took full advantage of Cameron’s first end hammer and another in the third end ended the contest with Cameron leading 7-1.

One steal and then two in a row breathed some life into the Buckie team, but Cameron’s rink held off the response to run out 10-5 winners and deserve his spot on the podium.

Kenny Oswald kept his hopes of retaining a Division 1 place alive with a solid win at Georgia Clark’s skipped Sunninghill Circuit this week. The count of four in the final over confirmed the win for Elgin’s team.

The Division 2 title was wide open again after front runner Abby Duncan came through, losing heavily to Forres’ Mike MacDonald.

Gordon Fraser had been bussing Duncan all season, but another wheel fell off his wagon as a single shot into the opening end was the Fochabers rink’s only contribution to the scoreboard.

Charlie Watt Jr. quietly shot to the top of the league with a thrilling 7-6 win over Bob Stewart.

Stewart must have been pleased with a 6-0 lead after four outs, but in the classic “two-half game,” the Forres rink woke Watt up with a big hit and two steals of three in the final outs left his Elgin opponents wondering what went wrong.

Mike McDonald’s remarkable and rare seven-shot count in the final five shots stunned both the crowd and his opponent Fochabers and was instrumental in his 14-7 victory to keep his team in the title race.

The Division 3 winners are the Owen Watson rink at Murray Juniors who are never late in a title clash with Alan Douglas.

Three straight two-pointers after the opening inning gave the rookies an 8-6 victory and what was a week for Watson and co.

Sunday saw them reach the final of the Scottish Schools Championship as they produced an impressive account of themselves throughout the weekend only to be edged out by Perth Academy in the final.

Andrew Allardyce came out on top in his club showdown with Helen Downey. Despite catching two shots in the first end, Downey’s team then struggled with Allardyce defrauded scoring in each of the next four ends to win 10-3 and confirm their Division 3 status for the next year.

Janice Rankin’s Murray Firth women’s team won the Division Four championship with a 9-3 victory over Judy’s Best Bucky.

The Beast’s squad of newcomers and returning stars pulled off several shots to a late start, however, they had a very encouraging first season, winning four out of nine games.

East Murray County league tables
East Murray County league tables

In the West, Division 1 champions Ali Fraser dropped their only point of the season in a thrilling 4-4 ​​draw with fellow club Roared Greenwood and Ali Asher confirmed their mid-table position with a 7-3 victory over Mark Fraser.

In their fight in the basement, Jimmy Cattell was a huge winner over Joss Forbes. Despite losing one in the first end, Cattell proceeded to score in each of the next five for a convincing 12-1 win.

Mike McNeice is still in the division 2 title screaming after a 12-4 win over Ricky Marwick albeit four points behind leader Larry Kerr, and Ian Thompson pulled away from Fiona Steele with a 10-5 win over the women.

Western Murray County
Western Murray County


Eastern Murray County League

Section 1

A. Cameron (Aberlor) 10 A. Campbell (Crying) 5

Ross (Sunninghill) 3k. Oswide (Elgin) 9

Section 2

Jim Watt Jr. (Force) 7 R Stewart (Elgin) 6

W Cameron (Aberlor) 11a. Duncan (Focuspress) 1

McDonald (Forres) 14 A. D’Orno (Fochabers) 7

Section 3

Allardyce (Elgin) 10e. Downey (Elgin) 3

A. Douglas (Darnaway) 6 Watson (Murray Juniors) 8

Section 4

Rankin (Murray Firth Ladies) 9G Best (Bucky) 3

Western Murray County

Section 1

J Cattell (NARN) 12a. Forbes (Nairn) 1

A. Fraser (Ardclach) 4 t. Greenwood (Ardclach) 4

M. Fraser (Dalcross) 3a. Asher (Nairn) 7

Section 2

Steel (Nairn Ladies) 5 I. Thompson (Dalcross) 10

McInnes (Nairn) 12 R. Marwick (Nairn) 4

Would you like to respond to this article? If so, click here To submit your ideas and have them published in print.

DISCLAIMER:- Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment